Real World Test

It came as an afterthought.  It was never my direct intention to have done what I made.  I had initially made a Secondary Intake for reducing fuel consumption of this car.   See my previous article.  Then I wanted to make the spoiler adjustable so that it can actually be useful.  This was on my previous thinking that the spoiler functioned as perceived.  That it provided down force and that if I took it out, the handling would suffer.

This then changed somehow without any premeditated intentions.  What I have right now is a combination of efficiency solutions.  The secondary intake initially showed that I could save money in the movement of the throttle.  That was fine.  Then the aerodynamics were sorted.  Never did I thought the two combined mods made significant fuel saving changes.

I did a test run yesterday for 230km in total.  This was a return trip on the North South Highway.  It was to test the Deflector at speeds above 90km/h.  It performed admirably by registering an Indicated average Fuel Consumption (FC) of less than 5.0 l/100km. You can see the YouTube video here . Yes, this means I now have a YouTube account.  Forgive me I am rather slow at 46 years old.  I have only now found the use for it.

During the same journey I made similar tests for speeds of 100, 120 and inadvertently 130km/h.  All of these test results were on solid straight roads with the AC switched on.  I plotted the values which I had observed on a spreadsheet.  I had expected a exponential curve from 100 to 130km/h.  But I could not get it.  The only time I observed a high FC is when the car was being driven at 100km/h up a 20 degree incline.

capture_11092014_004322The table is now UPDATED on 9 November 2014.

The data is based on observed data from factory standard equipment.  They are not absolute and the value is AVERAGE Fuel Consumption.  The last data if drawn to scale should be closer but it should also be higher.

A few things floated in my mind.  As engineers we are told that aerodynamic load is very much affected by speed of the object or vehicle.  This aerodynamic load increases .  Fuel consumption will increase dramatically as speed increases.  Perhaps it is too early and too easy to say that somehow with the combination of both modification, we have come to a point where the world is no longer flat.  I might need to spend more day trips to Melaka to do more tests.  One might say that these values at these speeds are insignificant as the speeds are low.  But these speeds are what normal people are driving at.  This is the whole point of doing these modifications.  It is so normal people could save money driving normally.

Should anyone ask about performance degradation; I simply did not see any.  The maximum top speed is still attainable.

Leave a Reply

